Kite Buggy European Championship

Hoylake 2017

2017 European Championship

The Parakart Association is pleased to announce that the 2017 European Kite Buggy Championships 2017 will be held in Hoylake (England), from Tuesday 29 August to Saturday 2 September (inclusive).

Hoylake is one of the United Kingdom's best kite buggy locations, with miles of sand Hoylake receives comparatively clean winds in all wind directions.

Registration is now closed, if you have any questions about your registration please contact: Kevin

What's going on when?

One day for registration and scrutineering at the start of the week, followed by 4 days of racing and wrapping up on Saturday for the closing ceremony and prize giving.

Download the detailed timetable of events.

Tuesday 29 August

10:00am to 2:00pm - Registration & Scrutineering - Hoylake Sailing Club
11:00am to 5:00pm - Beach open for practice (After registration and scrutineering only)
5:30pm - 7:00pm - Mandatory Pilots Briefing & Opening Ceremony - Hoylake Sailing Club
Canapes sponsored by Bicycle Productions.

Wednesday 30 August

10:00am to 5:00pm - Day 1 Racing - The Beach
7:30pm to 8:00pm - Prize Giving - Hoylake Sailing Club

Thursday 31 August

10:00am to 5:00pm - Day 2 Racing - The Beach
7:30pm to 11:00pm - Prize Giving & 3 Meat Outdoor Roast - Hoylake Sailing Club
Outdoor Roast sponsored by SWATK & FISLY

Friday 1 September

10:00am to 5:00pm - Day 3 Racing - The Beach
7:30pm to 8:00pm - Prize Giving - Hoylake Sailing Club

Saturday 2 September

10:00am to 4:00pm - Day 4 Racing - The Beach
7:00pm to 7:30pm - Bar Open - West Kirby Sailing Club
7:30pm - to Late - Prize Giving, Closing Ceremony & 3 Course Meal - West Kirby Sailing Club
Closing ceremony sponsored by the BKSA

Prizes donated by and Trophies by D.J. Financial Services

Championship Rules

The event will be run under FISLY ISRR unless identified below.

Wind speed [+]

Scrutineering [+]

Local beach rules [+]

Sailing numbers [+]

The Venue

Hoylake, England

Hoylake’s popularity as a venue is due to its significant size, smooth winds and unusual tides which allow competitors to spend much longer on the beach without being forced to stop racing by the incoming tides or unpredictable winds.

A map of the key locations around Hoylake and West Kirby is available to download here.

Huge beach/

Around 10 km²/ 4 square miles of useable beach, the course can be as small or as large as desired.

Unusual tide/

The beach is not affected by the tide every 6-12 hours like most locations. When the sand bar is not breached the beach can remain dry for 7-10 days at a time.


Even in offshore conditions the wind is normally smooth and easy to predict.

/ Scenery

Race with a view of the Welsh mountains, Liverpool docks and extensive Offshore Wind farms

/ Sea breeze

If the wind is low but the sun is out then the wind will pick up, with such a large area sea breezes are common at Hoylake.

/ Sand conditions

The beach is normally dry but there can be interesting areas with moguls, puddles, soft sand and ripples depending on conditions.


square meters of kite




square km of sand




The final individual results are as follows:


European Kite Buggy Championship 2017 - Mens classification

European Kite Buggy Championship 2017 - Womens classification

European Kite Buggy Championship 2017 - Overall combined classification for information only

Team results:

3rdThe Netherlands212

European Kite Buggy Championship 2017 - Proposed alternative team scoring method results for information only (from Scotland for proposal at future KBA/FISLY discussion) Based on 3 pilots, Based on 5 pilots.



Thank you to all contributors and sponsors:

BKSA logoFISLY logoBuggy Bags logoSWATK logo

Bicycle Productions & Trophy Sponsor: D.J.Financial Services

Keep up to date

Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up to date with news about the Kite Buggy Euros 2017.


Registration has now closed, we have 44 entrants in total, the complete list of competitors and allocated race numbers is as follows:

Country First Name Last Name Race Number
Belgium Joost Pelssers 45
Belgium David Van Boven 83
Denmark Nicolas Jackson 12
England Kevin Arlott 20
England Bart Bristow 60
England Barry Cook 58
England Karen Cutbush (F) 53
England Tommy Grierson 65
England Matthew Job 66
England Adrian Lavelle 40
England Ryan Mcgavin 10
England Mark Sherlock 5
England Alison Summersfield (F) 62
England Chris Wilson 54
England Russell Winters 23
France Stephane Bourgois 30
France Jean Marie Cuzon 92
France Adrien Delayen 43
France Benjamin Fourtanier 26
France Gonneau Frederic 18
France Adrien Lys 59
France Olivia Lys (F) 90
France Julien Pazzaia 89
France Hugo Vandezande 32
France Matthieu Zubert 42
Germany Bastian Bischoff 98
Germany Martin Grab 35
Germany Nils Grab 67
Germany Vincent Leib 19
Germany Pascal Lohmann 75
Germany Bernd Spiering 73
Scotland Tommy Hastings 8
Scotland Stuart Mackay 11
Scotland Robert Mitchell 80
Scotland Alan Payne 15
Scotland Stephen Pirie 79
The Netherlands Douwe De Kroon 17
The Netherlands Eric Leegwater 1
The Netherlands Bram Mourits 33
The Netherlands Jort Noordhuis 52
The Netherlands William Pelgrim 69
The Netherlands Robert Smits 13
The Netherlands Mark Van Den Berg 70
The Netherlands Rob Van Der Vaart 50